Reports/Location reports/Stoke-on-Trent
STUDENT ACCOMMODATION · STOKE-ON-TRENT H1 / 2026

Stoke-on-Trent Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026

Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in Stoke-on-Trent's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.

Period: 1 January to 30 June 2026Published 25 September 2026
23,000Full-time studentsHESA 2023/24 · 21.7% international
0New-capacity applications, H1 2026Bed numbers mostly not stated
£92,000Median flat price, H1 2026-1.1% vs H1 2025 · 39 sales
411Property charges registered, H1 2026+30.5% vs H1 2025

Local evidence for Stoke-on-Trent: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.

01 / Demand

23,000 full-time students anchor the Stoke-on-Trent market.

HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 23,000 full-time higher education students across Keele University and Staffordshire University, of whom roughly 5,000 (21.7%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 2%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.

Supply against demand

  • University of Staffordshire Student Village rooms (Stoke campus): over 1,000 rooms (2026).[E1]
  • Keele University on-campus bedrooms (Newcastle-under-Lyme): over 2,600 bedrooms (as at Nov 2025).[E2]
02 / Supply pipeline

No new student-capacity applications were received in H1 2026.

Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Newcastle under Lyme received 0 student-related planning records. After manual review, 0 applications proposed new or additional student capacity. The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]

Over the twelve months to 30 June 2026, the same registers show 0 new-capacity applications, against 0 applications to relax student-only occupancy or move buildings out of student use.

For comparison, H1 2025 saw 0 new-capacity applications in the same registers. Counts this small move sharply year to year and are not a trend on their own.

03 / Income

Published evidence on rents and occupancy in Stoke-on-Trent.

Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.

Published rent and occupancy evidence, Stoke-on-Trent
MeasureValuePeriodSource
Keele University standard shared halls (Keele campus, Newcastle-under-Lyme)£128.03 per week2026/27 academic yearKeele University[E3]
Keele University en-suite / superior en-suite (Keele campus, Newcastle-under-Lyme)£195.02 / £231.98 per week2026/27 academic yearKeele University[E3]
University of Staffordshire Student Village, ensuite to studio (bills included)£175 - £233 per weekcurrent published rates, academic year not stated on page (applications open for 2026/27)University of Staffordshire[E4]
04 / Values and exit

Flats in Stoke-on-Trent's student districts sold at a median of £92,000 in H1 2026.

HM Land Registry recorded 714 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (ST1, ST4 and ST5) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 39 flats and 239 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.

Median sold prices in Stoke-on-Trent's student districts
TypeH1 2026H1 2025Change12 months
Flats£92,000£93,000-1.1%£97,000
Terraced houses£125,000£126,500-1.2%£125,000
All types£175,000£175,000£175,000

Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.

The median flat sale was broadly level with the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.

New-build sales made up 0.1% of recorded sales in these districts in H1 2026.

05 / Secured finance

411 property charges were registered in Stoke-on-Trent's student districts in H1 2026.

Companies House recorded 411 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 296 borrowing companies, +30.5% on H1 2025 (315).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.

Charges by lender type, H1 2026
Lender typeH1 2026H1 2025
Specialist banks235196
Not in our lender register7245
Bridging lenders7258
High-street banks3216

Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.

Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 90.6% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 72 charges, against 58 in H1 2025.

06 / Student HMOs

HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.

Across Newcastle under Lyme, 10 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 10 of them in the student districts. Of those decided, 88.9% were approved.[D3]

Local policy

  • First-year accommodation guarantee: University of Staffordshire guarantees accommodation to eligible new first-year students who place it as their first choice.[E1]
07 / Public record

Schemes shaping Stoke-on-Trent's student housing supply.

Publicly reported student accommodation schemes, Stoke-on-Trent
SchemeBedsStatusNote
Hanley Police Station conversion[E5]218approvedRevised consent for 218 student units, up from 161 previously approved (status as at 19 Nov 2024; delivery not verified).
Staffordshire University Student Village[E6]700delivery partner appointed (as at 17 Jul 2024)Approximately 700 new rooms in blocks and townhouses around a social hub at the Stoke campus; Pinnacle Group selected as key delivery partner (status as at 17 Jul 2024; construction start and completion not stated in source).
PBSA replacing empty business units[E7]202proposedApplication for 202 student flats submitted August 2024; address and outcome not stated in source. Status as at source date (2024-08-15).

Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.

08 / What it means

What the H1 2026 evidence means for Stoke-on-Trent.

  • International students are about 21.7% of full-time enrolments: a meaningful minority, so recruitment policy still matters, but domestic demand carries most of the market.
  • No new-capacity applications in the half means little near-term planning supply from these registers, although consented schemes from earlier periods may still be delivering.
  • Specialist and non-bank lenders hold most matched charges in these districts, consistent with a market where smaller and transitional assets are financed outside the high street.
Market commentary, not advice

This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.

09 / Finance

Financing student accommodation in Stoke-on-Trent.

Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.

10 / Method

How this report was built.

  • Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
  • Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
  • Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
  • Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
  • Geography. Student postcode districts for Stoke-on-Trent: ST1, ST4 and ST5. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
RESEARCH RECORD

Sources

Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.

  1. [D1]
    Higher Education Student Statistics

    HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
    HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0)

  2. [D2]
    Price Paid Data

    HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
    Standard residential sales in ST1, ST4 and ST5. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

  3. [D3]
    Planning application registers

    Newcastle under Lyme · 1 January–30 June 2026
    Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified.

  4. [D4]
    Register of charges

    Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
    Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only.

  5. [E1]
    Accommodation

    University of Staffordshire · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)
    Scope: city

  6. [E2]
    Accommodation

    Keele University · 2025-11-12 (page last modified)
    Scope: city

  7. [E3]
    Accommodation fees

    Keele University · 2026-08-19 (page last modified)
    Scope: city

  8. [E4]
    Your accommodation

    University of Staffordshire · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)
    Scope: city

  9. [E5]
    Global Student Living

    Global Student Living · 2024-11-19

  10. [E6]
    Global Student Living

    Global Student Living · 2024-07-17

  11. [E7]
    Global Student Living

    Global Student Living · 2024-08-15

Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.