STUDENT ACCOMMODATION · SHEFFIELD H1 / 2026

Sheffield Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026

Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in Sheffield's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.

Period: 1 January to 30 June 2026Published 25 September 2026
60,000Full-time studentsHESA 2023/24 · 26.7% international
0New-capacity applications, H1 2026Bed numbers mostly not stated
£165,000Median flat price, H1 2026+3.1% vs H1 2025 · 160 sales
225Property charges registered, H1 2026+23.6% vs H1 2025

Local evidence for Sheffield: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.

01 / Demand

60,000 full-time students anchor the Sheffield market.

HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 60,000 full-time higher education students across Sheffield Hallam University and University of Sheffield, of whom roughly 16,000 (26.7%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 3%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.

Supply against demand

  • Student-to-PBSA-bed ratio: 1.21:1 (down from 1.46:1) students per bed (2024/25).[E1]
  • Change in student demand pool: -17.3% percent change (2022/23 to 2024/25).[E2]
  • Total PBSA bed spaces (council-commissioned study): 28,710 bed spaces (2021/22 academic year).[E3]
02 / Supply pipeline

No new student-capacity applications were received in H1 2026.

Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Sheffield received 5 student-related planning records. After manual review, 0 applications proposed new or additional student capacity. The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]

Over the twelve months to 30 June 2026, the same registers show 0 new-capacity applications, against 6 applications to relax student-only occupancy or move buildings out of student use.

For comparison, H1 2025 saw 0 new-capacity applications in the same registers. Counts this small move sharply year to year and are not a trend on their own.

Flexibility and exits

2 applications in H1 2026 sought to change or relax student use: for example, letting to non-students, conversion to HMOs, hotels, co-living or homes. This is part of how owners manage income and exit risk.

03 / Income

Published evidence on rents and occupancy in Sheffield.

Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.

Published rent and occupancy evidence, Sheffield
MeasureValuePeriodSource
PBSA rent change (largest decrease in UK)-5.5% year-on-year2025/26 academic year (reported Oct 2025)Cushman & Wakefield UK Student Accommodation Report, via Property Investor Today[E4]
University of Sheffield city undergraduate halls, weekly rent range£179.97 to £208.95 per week2026/27 academic year (42-week contracts)The University of Sheffield[E5]
Sheffield Hallam University accommodation, weekly rent range£96 to £185 per weekcurrent published rates (academic year not stated; page accessed Sept 2026)Sheffield Hallam University[E6]
Average PBSA rent£138.57 (ex bills) / £152.38 (inc bills) per person per weekas published Oct 2024StuRents[E7]
UK PBSA occupancy (StuRents Occupancy Update)85.4% occupancy, down 5.4% year on year2025/26 academic yearHEPI (citing StuRents, Oct 2025)[E8]
04 / Values and exit

Flats in Sheffield's student districts sold at a median of £165,000 in H1 2026.

HM Land Registry recorded 542 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (S1, S2, S3, S10 and S11) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 160 flats and 178 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.

Median sold prices in Sheffield's student districts
TypeH1 2026H1 2025Change12 months
Flats£165,000£160,000+3.1%£160,000
Terraced houses£250,000£255,000-2.0%£255,000
All types£242,500£259,997£255,000

Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.

The median flat sale was 3.1% above the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.

No standard new-build sales had been registered in these districts for H1 2026 at extraction. New-build completions are often registered months later, so this does not mean none took place, and the medians above mostly reflect second-hand stock.

05 / Secured finance

225 property charges were registered in Sheffield's student districts in H1 2026.

Companies House recorded 225 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 163 borrowing companies, +23.6% on H1 2025 (182).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.

Charges by lender type, H1 2026
Lender typeH1 2026H1 2025
Specialist banks11995
Bridging lenders4931
Not in our lender register3128
High-street banks2628

Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.

Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 86.6% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 49 charges, against 31 in H1 2025.

1 charge involved a borrower name or charge description that mentions student accommodation. Name matching misses most student-let property, so treat this as a lower bound.

06 / Student HMOs

HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.

Across Sheffield, 8 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 4 of them in the student districts. Of those decided, 100% were approved.[D3]

Local policy

  • Article 4 HMO direction: Sheffield's HMO Article 4 Direction came into force on 10 December 2011; within the area, converting a house to a 3-6 person shared house needs planning permission. Core Strategy Policy CS41 restricts conversions where 20% or more of homes within 200m are already HMOs.[E9]
  • PBSA local plan policy: A council-commissioned Dec 2021 study modelled that continued development at 1,477 beds a year would take the city-wide student-to-bed ratio to 1.0:1 by 2029/30, and flagged the risk of PBSA oversupply.[E3]
07 / Public record

Schemes shaping Sheffield's student housing supply.

Publicly reported student accommodation schemes, Sheffield
SchemeBedsStatusNote
Calico Sheffield, Broad Lane / Hollis Croft[E10]n/aapproved27-storey tower to house 'more than 500 students'; current build/opening status not verified from a dated source

Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.

08 / What it means

What the H1 2026 evidence means for Sheffield.

  • International students are about 26.7% of full-time enrolments: a meaningful minority, so recruitment policy still matters, but domestic demand carries most of the market.
  • No new-capacity applications in the half means little near-term planning supply from these registers, although consented schemes from earlier periods may still be delivering.
  • Applications to relax student use point to owners protecting income through flexibility, which lenders will expect to see in a credible exit plan.
  • Specialist and non-bank lenders hold most matched charges in these districts, consistent with a market where smaller and transitional assets are financed outside the high street.
Market commentary, not advice

This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.

09 / Finance

Financing student accommodation in Sheffield.

Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.

10 / Method

How this report was built.

  • Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
  • Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
  • Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
  • Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
  • Geography. Student postcode districts for Sheffield: S1, S2, S3, S10 and S11. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
RESEARCH RECORD

Sources

Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.

  1. [D1]
    Higher Education Student Statistics

    HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
    HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0)

  2. [D2]
    Price Paid Data

    HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
    Standard residential sales in S1, S2, S3, S10 and S11. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

  3. [D3]
    Planning application registers

    Sheffield · 1 January–30 June 2026
    Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified.

  4. [D4]
    Register of charges

    Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
    Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only.

  5. [E1]
    Affordability issues leave student beds empty despite high demand, report finds

    Cushman & Wakefield UK Student Accommodation Report, via The Intermediary · 2025-10-13
    Scope: city

  6. [E2]
    Affordability issues impact on student accommodation market

    Cushman & Wakefield UK Student Accommodation Report, via Education Property · 2025-10-22
    Scope: city

  7. [E3]
    Purpose-Built Student Accommodation Market Study

    Sheffield City Council / Cushman & Wakefield · 2021-12
    Scope: city

  8. [E4]
    Purpose Built Student Accommodation hits trouble as vacancy rates rise

    Cushman & Wakefield UK Student Accommodation Report, via Property Investor Today · 2025-10-14
    Scope: city

  9. [E5]
    Rents - 2026/27 | Accommodation

    The University of Sheffield · 2026
    Scope: city

  10. [E6]
    Accommodation | Sheffield Hallam University

    Sheffield Hallam University · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)
    Scope: city

  11. [E7]
    How much is student accommodation in Sheffield?

    StuRents · 2024-10-24
    Scope: city

  12. [E8]
    WEEKEND READING: What's happening with the UK's student accommodation?

    HEPI (citing StuRents, Oct 2025) · 2026-04-11
    Scope: national

  13. [E9]
    Sheffield City Council

    Sheffield City Council · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)

  14. [E10]
    Sheffielder

    Sheffielder · 2020-12-30

Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.