STUDENT ACCOMMODATION · READING H1 / 2026

Reading Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026

Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in Reading's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.

Period: 1 January to 30 June 2026Published 25 September 2026
19,000Full-time studentsHESA 2023/24 · 31.6% international
1New-capacity applications, H1 2026Bed numbers mostly not stated
£225,000Median flat price, H1 2026-4.5% vs H1 2025 · 150 sales
208Property charges registered, H1 2026+13.0% vs H1 2025

Local evidence for Reading: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.

01 / Demand

19,000 full-time students anchor the Reading market.

HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 19,000 full-time higher education students across University of Reading, of whom roughly 6,000 (31.6%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 2.5%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.

Supply against demand

  • University of Reading student bedrooms on or close to campus: 4,982 bedrooms (2025/26 academic year).[E1]
  • Shortfall in University accommodation for first-year students (agreed in Local Plan text): around 1,000 bed spaces (Local Plan Partial Review, 2026).[E2]
  • Students housed in rented accommodation other than university or private halls (all years, HESA): around 4,000 (2023/24); 3,400 (2021/22) students (2021/22 and 2023/24).[E2]
  • Expected University of Reading student growth to 2030: around 1,850 additional students (to 2030).[E2]
02 / Supply pipeline

1 application sought new student capacity in H1 2026.

Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Reading and Wokingham received 3 student-related planning records. After manual review, 1 application proposed new or additional student capacity. The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]

New student-capacity applications received, H1 2026
ReferenceReceivedStatusScheme typeStated beds
PL/26/05602026-04-27WithdrawnConversion to PBSANot stated

Source: Reading and Wokingham planning registers, as extracted. Status reflects the register at extraction and can change.

Flexibility and exits

1 application in H1 2026 sought to change or relax student use: for example, letting to non-students, conversion to HMOs, hotels, co-living or homes. This is part of how owners manage income and exit risk.

03 / Income

Published evidence on rents and occupancy in Reading.

Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.

Published rent and occupancy evidence, Reading
MeasureValuePeriodSource
University of Reading halls, cheapest weekly rent (St Patrick's Hall standard, self-catered)£166.32 per week2026/27 academic yearUniversity of Reading[E3]
University of Reading halls, premium en-suite weekly rent (Benyon, Childs, Mackinder, Stenton, Bridges; 40 weeks)£254.17 per week2026/27 academic yearUniversity of Reading[E3]
University of Reading halls, studio room weekly rent (St George's, Wessex, Northcourt; 51 weeks)£285.11 per week2026/27 academic yearUniversity of Reading[E3]
04 / Values and exit

Flats in Reading's student districts sold at a median of £225,000 in H1 2026.

HM Land Registry recorded 542 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (RG1, RG2 and RG6) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 150 flats and 168 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.

Median sold prices in Reading's student districts
TypeH1 2026H1 2025Change12 months
Flats£225,000£235,500-4.5%£230,000
Terraced houses£335,000£350,000-4.3%£338,000
All types£350,000£365,000£357,750

Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.

The median flat sale was 4.5% below the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.

New-build sales made up 0.2% of recorded sales in these districts in H1 2026.

05 / Secured finance

208 property charges were registered in Reading's student districts in H1 2026.

Companies House recorded 208 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 171 borrowing companies, +13.0% on H1 2025 (184).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.

Charges by lender type, H1 2026
Lender typeH1 2026H1 2025
Specialist banks108107
Bridging lenders4120
Not in our lender register3535
High-street banks2320
Development lenders11

Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.

Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 86.7% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 42 charges, against 21 in H1 2025.

06 / Student HMOs

HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.

Across Reading and Wokingham, 8 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 7 of them in the student districts. Of those decided, 50% were approved.[D3]

Local policy

  • HMO Article 4 direction: An Article 4 direction covers parts of Park, Redlands and Katesgrove wards, and a further direction made in January 2016 covers all properties in Jesse Terrace (Abbey ward), so converting a house (C3) to a small HMO (C4) in these areas needs planning permission.[E4]
  • Additional HMO licensing: Since 1 March 2026 all small HMOs in Reading with fewer than five occupants require a licence.[E5]
  • Local Plan Partial Review, Policy H12: Supporting text cites the 2024 Housing Needs Assessment, which did not identify a specific need for additional PBSA; the University argues need should mainly be met on campus and depends on its growth plans.[E2]
07 / Public record

Schemes shaping Reading's student housing supply.

Publicly reported student accommodation schemes, Reading
SchemeBedsStatusNote
Central Studios[E6]141operational (refurbishment underway as at 18 Jun 2026)Operational 141-studio PBSA acquired by Aprirose in 2025; phased soft refurbishment by Watkin Jones Refresh began March 2026 while the building stays fully operational, due to run through summer 2026 (as at 18 Jun 2026).
Berkshire House, King's Road[E7]145completed 2017All en-suite studio block for 145 students, opened 2017, sold by CityBlock to an Oxford-based investor in 2025. Status as at source date (2025-08-05).

Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.

08 / What it means

What the H1 2026 evidence means for Reading.

  • International students make up about 31.6% of full-time enrolments, so visa and recruitment policy is a material demand sensitivity here.
  • New-capacity applications continued in H1 2026. Delivery depends on decisions, viability and funding, so applications are not completions.
  • Applications to relax student use point to owners protecting income through flexibility, which lenders will expect to see in a credible exit plan.
  • Specialist and non-bank lenders hold most matched charges in these districts, consistent with a market where smaller and transitional assets are financed outside the high street.
Market commentary, not advice

This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.

09 / Finance

Financing student accommodation in Reading.

Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.

10 / Method

How this report was built.

  • Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
  • Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
  • Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
  • Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
  • Geography. Student postcode districts for Reading: RG1, RG2 and RG6. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
RESEARCH RECORD

Sources

Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.

  1. [D1]
    Higher Education Student Statistics

    HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
    HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0)

  2. [D2]
    Price Paid Data

    HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
    Standard residential sales in RG1, RG2 and RG6. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

  3. [D3]
    Planning application registers

    Reading and Wokingham · 1 January–30 June 2026
    Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified.

  4. [D4]
    Register of charges

    Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
    Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only.

  5. [E1]
    Home from home accommodation 2025-26

    University of Reading · 2024-12
    Scope: city

  6. [E2]
    EX060 University of Reading Hearing Statement Matter 3

    Stantec for University of Reading (Reading Local Plan Partial Review examination) · 2026-01
    Scope: city

  7. [E3]
    Accommodation Charges 2026-27

    University of Reading · 2025-12
    Scope: city

  8. [E4]
    Reading Borough Council

    Reading Borough Council · 2023-10-12 (page last updated; accessed 2026-09-25)

  9. [E5]
    Reading Borough Council

    Reading Borough Council · 2026-09-08 (page last updated)

  10. [E6]
    BDC Magazine

    BDC Magazine · 2026-06-18

  11. [E7]
    Global Student Living

    Global Student Living · 2025-08-05

Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.