Plymouth Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026
Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in Plymouth's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.
Local evidence for Plymouth: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.
23,000 full-time students anchor the Plymouth market.
HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 23,000 full-time higher education students across Marjon University and University of Plymouth, of whom roughly 5,000 (21.7%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 2.5%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.
Supply against demand
- PBSA bed spaces in the city (plus 556 under construction and 270 consented not started): 7,197 beds (31 March 2023).[E1]
- Full-time student enrolment across Plymouth's three universities: 24,824 students (2022/23).[E1]
- Share of students without access to PBSA (council comparison of beds v enrolment): at least 68% percent (2022/23).[E1]
2 applications sought new student capacity in H1 2026.
Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Plymouth received 3 student-related planning records. After manual review, 2 applications proposed new or additional student capacity (2 approved at the time of extraction). The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]
Over the twelve months to 30 June 2026, the same registers show 2 new-capacity applications, against 1 application to relax student-only occupancy or move buildings out of student use.
For comparison, H1 2025 saw 1 new-capacity application in the same registers. Counts this small move sharply year to year and are not a trend on their own.
| Reference | Received | Status | Scheme type | Stated beds |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26/00695/FUL | 2026-05-19 | Approved | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
| 26/00757/FUL | 2026-06-01 | Approved | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
Source: Plymouth planning registers, as extracted. Status reflects the register at extraction and can change.
1 application in H1 2026 sought to change or relax student use: for example, letting to non-students, conversion to HMOs, hotels, co-living or homes. This is part of how owners manage income and exit risk.
Published evidence on rents and occupancy in Plymouth.
Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.
| Measure | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Plymouth en-suite halls (Francis Drake, Mary Newman, Radnor, Pilgrim), bills included | £209.50 to £233 per week | 2026/27 academic year | University of Plymouth[E2] |
| University of Plymouth shared-facility halls (Gilwell; Robbins from) | £141 per week | 2026/27 academic year | University of Plymouth[E2] |
Flats in Plymouth's student districts sold at a median of £141,000 in H1 2026.
HM Land Registry recorded 296 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (PL1 and PL4) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 143 flats and 142 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.
| Type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 | Change | 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flats | £141,000 | £142,000 | -0.7% | £140,000 |
| Terraced houses | £220,000 | £215,000 | +2.3% | £225,000 |
| All types | £182,000 | £190,000 | £190,000 |
Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.
The median flat sale was broadly level with the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.
No standard new-build sales had been registered in these districts for H1 2026 at extraction. New-build completions are often registered months later, so this does not mean none took place, and the medians above mostly reflect second-hand stock.
158 property charges were registered in Plymouth's student districts in H1 2026.
Companies House recorded 158 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 104 borrowing companies, -4.8% on H1 2025 (166).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.
| Lender type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Specialist banks | 97 | 98 |
| Bridging lenders | 26 | 22 |
| High-street banks | 20 | 21 |
| Not in our lender register | 14 | 25 |
| Development lenders | 1 | 0 |
Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.
Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 86.1% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 27 charges, against 22 in H1 2025.
HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.
Across Plymouth, 15 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 13 of them in the student districts. Of those decided, 100% were approved. 1 application went the other way, returning HMOs to family homes.[D3]
Local policy
- Article 4 Direction (C3 to C4 HMO): In force since 14 September 2012 across 11 neighbourhoods including Mutley and Greenbank, City Centre, and Stoke and Stonehouse; planning permission is needed to convert a house to a small HMO.[E3]
- Joint Local Plan policy DEV12: Plymouth and South West Devon JLP 2014-2034 policy DEV12 prefers student needs to be met in PBSA, subject to identified need, accessible location and avoiding excessive concentration.[E1]
Schemes shaping Plymouth's student housing supply.
| Scheme | Beds | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| 40-42 North Hill[E1] | 16 | under construction | Consented 16-studio PBSA (24/00646/FUL), under construction per Sept 2025 officers report. Status as at source date (2025-09). |
| 38 North Hill extension[E1] | 6 | proposed | Two-storey extension adding 6 studios to 40-42 North Hill; recommended grant conditionally, committee 18 Sept 2025 (outcome not verified). Status as at source date (2025-09). |
| Former bar conversion (address not given)[E4] | n/a | approved | Ground floor and basement conversion plus 2-storey extension to PBSA, approved at committee. Status as at source date (2025-01-28). |
Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.
What the H1 2026 evidence means for Plymouth.
- International students are about 21.7% of full-time enrolments: a meaningful minority, so recruitment policy still matters, but domestic demand carries most of the market.
- New-capacity applications continued in H1 2026. Delivery depends on decisions, viability and funding, so applications are not completions.
- Applications to relax student use point to owners protecting income through flexibility, which lenders will expect to see in a credible exit plan.
- Specialist and non-bank lenders hold most matched charges in these districts, consistent with a market where smaller and transitional assets are financed outside the high street.
This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.
Financing student accommodation in Plymouth.
Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.
How this report was built.
- Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
- Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
- Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
- Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
- Geography. Student postcode districts for Plymouth: PL1 and PL4. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
Sources
Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.
- [D1]Higher Education Student Statistics
HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0) - [D2]Price Paid Data
HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
Standard residential sales in PL1 and PL4. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. - [D3]Planning application registers
Plymouth · 1 January–30 June 2026
Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified. - [D4]Register of charges
Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only. - [E1]Officers report 25/00852/FUL, 38 North Hill
Plymouth City Council · 2025-09
Scope: city - [E2]Halls of residence
University of Plymouth · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)
Scope: city - [E3]Plymouth City Council
Plymouth City Council · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)
- [E4]BRL Architects
BRL Architects · 2025-01-28
Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.