Manchester Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026
Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in Manchester's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.
Local evidence for Manchester: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.
122,000 full-time students anchor the Manchester market.
HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 122,000 full-time higher education students across Manchester Metropolitan University, Royal Northern College of Music, University of Manchester and University of Salford, of whom roughly 36,000 (29.5%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 3.2%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.
Supply against demand
- Manchester Metropolitan University annual bed need vs owned beds: c.5,700 beds needed; c.2,500 owned beds (2026).[E1]
- Council estimate of new PBSA bedspaces required: c.750 bedspaces per year to 2030 (2023 council assessment).[E2]
- Identified PBSA pipeline (council, 20 sites): 12,500 beds (2023 council assessment).[E2]
2 applications sought new student capacity in H1 2026.
Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Manchester received 3 student-related planning records. After manual review, 2 applications proposed new or additional student capacity (2 undetermined or pending at the time of extraction). The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]
Over the twelve months to 30 June 2026, the same registers show 4 new-capacity applications stating 132 beds, against 0 applications to relax student-only occupancy or move buildings out of student use.
For comparison, H1 2025 saw 2 new-capacity applications in the same registers. Counts this small move sharply year to year and are not a trend on their own.
| Reference | Received | Status | Scheme type | Stated beds |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PLA-2026-000312 | 2026-05-29 | Pending | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
| PLA-2026-000485 | 2026-06-18 | Pending | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
Source: Manchester planning registers, as extracted. Status reflects the register at extraction and can change.
Published evidence on rents and occupancy in Manchester.
Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.
| Measure | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Average advertised rent, purpose-built apartments | £155 per person per week | live listings, accessed 2026-09-25 (no date stated on page) | StuRents[E3] |
| Average advertised rent, student houses | £104 per person per week | live listings, accessed 2026-09-25 (no date stated on page) | StuRents[E3] |
| Qualitative market performance (Cushman & Wakefield UK Student Accommodation Report 2025, as reported) | Resilient; net loss of beds over five years sustaining occupancy and rents | 2025 | Property Portfolio Investor (reporting Cushman & Wakefield)[E4] |
Flats in Manchester's student districts sold at a median of £200,000 in H1 2026.
HM Land Registry recorded 349 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (M1, M5, M13, M14 and M15) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 228 flats and 84 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.
| Type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 | Change | 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flats | £200,000 | £223,400 | -10.5% | £200,000 |
| Terraced houses | £237,000 | £231,000 | +2.6% | £235,000 |
| All types | £221,000 | £230,000 | £220,000 |
Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.
The median flat sale was 10.5% below the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.
New-build sales made up 1.1% of recorded sales in these districts in H1 2026.
436 property charges were registered in Manchester's student districts in H1 2026.
Companies House recorded 436 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 307 borrowing companies, +23.9% on H1 2025 (352).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.
| Lender type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Specialist banks | 211 | 217 |
| Not in our lender register | 105 | 52 |
| Bridging lenders | 82 | 69 |
| High-street banks | 34 | 13 |
| Private and institutional funders | 3 | 1 |
| Development lenders | 1 | 0 |
Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.
Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 89.7% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 83 charges, against 69 in H1 2025.
18 charges involved a borrower name or charge description that mentions student accommodation. Name matching misses most student-let property, so treat this as a lower bound.
HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.
Across Manchester, 9 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 5 of them in the student districts. Of those decided, 0% were approved.[D3]
Local policy
- Manchester Local Plan publication draft: The draft Local Plan requires PBSA to include spaces for lower-income students; consultation closes 28 September 2026 ahead of examination.[E5]
- Salford HMO Article 4: Salford has long-standing Article 4 directions on HMOs and has sought to expand them; it rejected nine small-HMO applications or lawfulness requests between 25 August and 5 October 2025.[E6]
Schemes shaping Manchester's student housing supply.
| Scheme | Beds | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owens Park / Fallowfield campus (University of Manchester)[E7] | 3,300 | approved | £530m, 3,300 units; planning permission and Gateway 2 approval secured as at 28 Aug 2026; first 1,000 rooms due 2028, further phases 2029 and 2030. |
| Cambridge Halls, off Cavendish Street[E8] | 2,300 | under construction | Around three times as many beds as the previous blocks; Gateway 2 cleared for the first 1,000-bed phase and structural groundworks underway as at 3 Sep 2026; phase one due 2029/30, 1,201-bed phase two in 2030/31. |
| Plot H, Sister (Charles Street/Sackville Street)[E9] | 1,041 | proposed | Application PLA-2026-000312; towers of 8, 10 and 38 storeys on former UMIST campus. Status as at source date (2026-06-01). |
| 10-12 Whitworth Street West[E10] | 818 | proposed | 39-storey tower; application PLA-2026-000485. Status as at source date (2026-06-26). |
| Fusion Deansgate[E11] | 509 | completed (handed over July 2026) | 28-storey tower handed over July 2026 ahead of the September 2026 intake; approved on appeal in 2022. |
| Apex, Plymouth Grove[E12] | 239 | approved | 239 studios; Gateway 2 secured July 2026, construction can commence. Status as at source date (2026-07-28). |
Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.
What the H1 2026 evidence means for Manchester.
- International students are about 29.5% of full-time enrolments: a meaningful minority, so recruitment policy still matters, but domestic demand carries most of the market.
- New-capacity applications continued in H1 2026. Delivery depends on decisions, viability and funding, so applications are not completions.
- Specialist and non-bank lenders hold most matched charges in these districts, consistent with a market where smaller and transitional assets are financed outside the high street.
This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.
Financing student accommodation in Manchester.
Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.
How this report was built.
- Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
- Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
- Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
- Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
- Geography. Student postcode districts for Manchester: M1, M5, M13, M14 and M15. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
Sources
Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.
- [D1]Higher Education Student Statistics
HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0) - [D2]Price Paid Data
HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
Standard residential sales in M1, M5, M13, M14 and M15. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. - [D3]Planning application registers
Manchester · 1 January–30 June 2026
Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified. - [D4]Register of charges
Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only. - [E1]GRAHAM to build 2,300-bed Manchester PBSA
Place North West · 2026-02-16
Scope: city - [E2]Manchester outlines 12,500-bed PBSA pipeline
Place North West · 2023-05-24
Scope: city - [E3]Student Accommodation Manchester - Houses, Flats
StuRents · undated live page (accessed 2026-09-25)
Scope: city - [E4]Purpose-built student accommodation faces strain as vacancy rates rise
Property Portfolio Investor (reporting Cushman & Wakefield) · 2025-10-15
Scope: city - [E5]Place North West
Place North West · 2026-08-18
- [E6]Place North West
Place North West · 2025-11-21
- [E7]Place North West
Place North West · 2026-08-28
- [E8]Place North West
Place North West · 2026-09-03
- [E9]Place North West
Place North West · 2026-06-01
- [E10]Place North West
Place North West · 2026-06-26
- [E11]Place North West
Place North West · 2026-07-14
- [E12]Place North West
Place North West · 2026-07-28
Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.