STUDENT ACCOMMODATION · EXETER H1 / 2026

Exeter Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026

Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in Exeter's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.

Period: 1 January to 30 June 2026Published 25 September 2026
28,000Full-time studentsHESA 2023/24 · 28.6% international
3New-capacity applications, H1 20262 beds stated in proposals
£169,500Median flat price, H1 2026-0.3% vs H1 2025 · 60 sales
113Property charges registered, H1 2026+37.8% vs H1 2025

Local evidence for Exeter: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.

01 / Demand

28,000 full-time students anchor the Exeter market.

HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 28,000 full-time higher education students across University of Exeter, of whom roughly 8,000 (28.6%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 3%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.

Supply against demand

  • PBSA beds built and occupied (university-operated 6,976; part-nominated 366; commercial 4,947): 12,289 beds (early 2026).[E1]
  • PBSA pipeline not yet built (2,555 approved + 500 in planning): 3,055 beds (early 2026).[E1]
  • Total students (HESA 2023/24); 49% in 'other rented' e.g. house shares: 28,050 students (2023/24).[E1]
  • Share of additional students since 2006/07 housed in PBSA (policy CP5 target 75%+); projected to fall to 92% by 2028/29: 103% percent (2024 calculation).[E2]
02 / Supply pipeline

3 applications sought new student capacity in H1 2026.

Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Exeter received 6 student-related planning records. After manual review, 3 applications proposed new or additional student capacity (1 approved and 2 undetermined or pending at the time of extraction). The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]

2 beds are stated in 1 proposal. Bed figures are as written in the proposal descriptions. They are a floor, not a total, because many applications do not state a number.

Over the twelve months to 30 June 2026, the same registers show 5 new-capacity applications stating 2 beds, against 0 applications to relax student-only occupancy or move buildings out of student use.

For comparison, H1 2025 saw 0 new-capacity applications in the same registers. Counts this small move sharply year to year and are not a trend on their own.

New student-capacity applications received, H1 2026
ReferenceReceivedStatusScheme typeStated beds
26/0883/FUL2026-06-16PendingStudio-led scheme2
26/0015/FUL2026-01-14ApprovedCluster-flat schemeNot stated
26/0606/LBC2026-06-16PendingConversion to PBSANot stated

Source: Exeter planning registers, as extracted. Status reflects the register at extraction and can change.

03 / Income

Published evidence on rents and occupancy in Exeter.

Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.

Published rent and occupancy evidence, Exeter
MeasureValuePeriodSource
University of Exeter accommodation weekly rent range (all residences)£124.74 to £341.74 per week2026/27 academic yearUniversity of Exeter[E3]
University-listed rent, The Depot (city-centre partner PBSA)£244.00 per week2026/27 academic yearUniversity of Exeter[E3]
04 / Values and exit

Flats in Exeter's student districts sold at a median of £169,500 in H1 2026.

HM Land Registry recorded 338 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (EX1 and EX4) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 60 flats and 137 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.

Median sold prices in Exeter's student districts
TypeH1 2026H1 2025Change12 months
Flats£169,500£170,000-0.3%£167,500
Terraced houses£272,000£275,750-1.4%£270,000
All types£300,000£300,000£295,000

Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.

The median flat sale was broadly level with the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.

New-build sales made up 0.3% of recorded sales in these districts in H1 2026.

05 / Secured finance

113 property charges were registered in Exeter's student districts in H1 2026.

Companies House recorded 113 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 78 borrowing companies, +37.8% on H1 2025 (82).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.

Charges by lender type, H1 2026
Lender typeH1 2026H1 2025
Specialist banks4837
Not in our lender register258
High-street banks217
Bridging lenders1730
Development lenders20

Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.

Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 76.1% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 19 charges, against 30 in H1 2025.

2 charges involved a borrower name or charge description that mentions student accommodation. Name matching misses most student-let property, so treat this as a lower bound.

06 / Student HMOs

HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.

Across Exeter, 4 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 4 of them in the student districts.[D3]

Local policy

  • Core Strategy CP5 and Local Plan H5: CP5 supporting text says 75% or more of additional student numbers should be housed in PBSA (a minimum target; the report notes it is not in the policy wording itself); saved policy H5 seeks to avoid overconcentration of student housing, but the development plan does not define overconcentration.[E2]
  • Emerging Exeter Plan policy H10: Supports PBSA on campus, in sustainable locations or the city centre, subject to amenity, active travel and management. PBSA now counts in the five-year land supply, which stood at 4 years 3 months.[E2]
07 / Public record

Schemes shaping Exeter's student housing supply.

Publicly reported student accommodation schemes, Exeter
SchemeBedsStatusNote
Heavitree Road former police station and magistrates court[E4]399approvedApproved Dec 2025 as 813 beds combined: 399 PBSA plus 414 co-living. Status as at source date (2026-01-16).
Clarendon House, Western Way (former JobCentre)[E5]297approved10-storey PBSA narrowly approved by councillors; press reports 'nearly 300' beds, Civic Society lists 297. Status as at source date (2026-02-10).
Former King Billy site, 26-28 Longbrook Street[E6]108approved108 self-contained studios; committee resolved 8 Sept 2025 to grant subject to S106 (refusal if S106 not completed by 8 March 2026); status as at 8 Sept 2025.
Summerland Street, former Unit 1 nightclub[E4]180proposedSix-storey block; full application submitted Jan 2026. Status as at source date (2026-01-16).

Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.

08 / What it means

What the H1 2026 evidence means for Exeter.

  • International students are about 28.6% of full-time enrolments: a meaningful minority, so recruitment policy still matters, but domestic demand carries most of the market.
  • New-capacity applications continued in H1 2026. Delivery depends on decisions, viability and funding, so applications are not completions.
  • Specialist and non-bank lenders hold most matched charges in these districts, consistent with a market where smaller and transitional assets are financed outside the high street.
Market commentary, not advice

This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.

09 / Finance

Financing student accommodation in Exeter.

Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.

10 / Method

How this report was built.

  • Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
  • Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
  • Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
  • Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
  • Geography. Student postcode districts for Exeter: EX1 and EX4. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
RESEARCH RECORD

Sources

Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.

  1. [D1]
    Higher Education Student Statistics

    HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
    HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0)

  2. [D2]
    Price Paid Data

    HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
    Standard residential sales in EX1 and EX4. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

  3. [D3]
    Planning application registers

    Exeter · 1 January–30 June 2026
    Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified.

  4. [D4]
    Register of charges

    Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
    Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only.

  5. [E1]
  6. [E2]
    Planning Committee Report 25/0318/FUL

    Exeter City Council · undated (PDF created 2025-08-29; accessed 2026-09-25)
    Scope: city

  7. [E3]
    Room Finder | Accommodation in Exeter

    University of Exeter · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)
    Scope: city

  8. [E4]
    Exeter Observer; Exeter Civic Society

    Exeter Observer; Exeter Civic Society · 2026-01-16

  9. [E5]
    Global Student Living

    Global Student Living · 2026-02-10

  10. [E6]
    Exeter City Council

    Exeter City Council · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)

Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.