Ealing Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026
Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in Ealing's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.
Local evidence for Ealing: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.
16,000 full-time students anchor the Ealing market.
HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 16,000 full-time higher education students across University of West London, of whom roughly 5,000 (31.2%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 2%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.
Supply against demand
- PBSA bedrooms approved in Ealing (third-highest London authority in study): 2,762 beds (applications 2021 to April 2025).[E1]
- Live London PBSA planning applications pending determination: 19,600+ beds (applications 2021 to April 2025).[E1]
- GLA-projected London student bedroom need: 3,500 per year (88,000 total) beds (2016-2041).[E1]
2 applications sought new student capacity in H1 2026.
Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Ealing received 18 student-related planning records. After manual review, 2 applications proposed new or additional student capacity (2 undetermined or pending at the time of extraction). The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]
Over the twelve months to 30 June 2026, the same registers show 4 new-capacity applications stating 268 beds, against 0 applications to relax student-only occupancy or move buildings out of student use.
For comparison, H1 2025 saw 0 new-capacity applications in the same registers. Counts this small move sharply year to year and are not a trend on their own.
| Reference | Received | Status | Scheme type | Stated beds |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 260282FUL | 2026-01-27 | Pending | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
| 260193CONS | 2026-01-16 | Pending | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
Source: Ealing planning registers, as extracted. Status reflects the register at extraction and can change.
Published evidence on rents and occupancy in Ealing.
Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.
| Measure | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| UWL-nominated halls, The Paragon (Brentford, LB Hounslow), classic ensuite | from £263 per week | 2026/27, 51-week contract | University of West London[E2] |
| UWL-nominated halls, The Paragon, studio | from £370 per week | 2026/27, 51-week contract | University of West London[E2] |
| UWL-listed Chapter White City bronze studio (East Acton) | from £320-£325 per week | 2026/27, 51-week contract | University of West London[E3] |
| Average London PBSA rent | £13,595 per year | 2024/25 academic year | Property Week (citing Unipol and HEPI reports)[E4] |
| London PBSA rent increase over two academic years | 18% | two academic years to 2024/25 | Property Week (citing Unipol and HEPI reports)[E4] |
Flats in Ealing's student districts sold at a median of £442,500 in H1 2026.
HM Land Registry recorded 260 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (W5 and W13) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 136 flats and 86 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.
| Type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 | Change | 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flats | £442,500 | £488,250 | -9.4% | £450,000 |
| Terraced houses | £833,500 | £855,500 | -2.6% | £858,000 |
| All types | £617,500 | £640,000 | £660,000 |
Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.
The median flat sale was 9.4% below the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.
No standard new-build sales had been registered in these districts for H1 2026 at extraction. New-build completions are often registered months later, so this does not mean none took place, and the medians above mostly reflect second-hand stock.
127 property charges were registered in Ealing's student districts in H1 2026.
Companies House recorded 127 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 89 borrowing companies, +12.4% on H1 2025 (113).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.
| Lender type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Specialist banks | 42 | 45 |
| Not in our lender register | 39 | 38 |
| Bridging lenders | 32 | 19 |
| High-street banks | 13 | 9 |
| Development lenders | 1 | 2 |
Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.
Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 85.2% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 33 charges, against 21 in H1 2025.
HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.
Across Ealing, 52 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 5 of them in the student districts. Of those decided, 24.1% were approved.[D3]
Local policy
- Planning authority for North Acton: The 609-bed Victoria Road (North Acton) PBSA scheme in Ealing borough was consented by the Old Oak and Park Royal Development Corporation (OPDC), the planning authority for the North Acton area.[E5]
- Ealing new Local Plan / CIL: Regulation 19 consultation ran 28 Feb to 10 Apr 2024; the accompanying CIL charging schedule covers student housing among other uses.[E6]
- London Plan H15 / PBSA LPG: Schemes with at least 35% affordable student accommodation (50% on public or suitable industrial land) can use the fast-track route; affordable rooms are let at or below 55% of the maximum London maintenance loan for living costs.[E7]
Schemes shaping Ealing's student housing supply.
| Scheme | Beds | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Victoria Road / former Holiday Inn Express, North Acton[E8] | 609 | approved | 31-storey PBSA plus 17-storey 59-home BTR block; approved by OPDC; 35% affordable. Status as at source date (2025-05-29). |
| One Portal Way, North Acton (Imperial College)[E9] | 1,926 | proposed | S73 to raise student rooms from 384 to 1,926 (planned March 2026 submission to OPDC); 35% affordable rents. Status as at source date (2026-02-11). |
| The Paragon, Brentford (next to UWL Brentford campus; serves UWL)[E2] | n/a | opening Sept 2026 (as at undated page accessed 2026-09-25) | Fully refurbished residence opening September 2026 next to UWL Brentford campus; booking through UWL gives reduced rent; free shuttle to Ealing site. |
Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.
What the H1 2026 evidence means for Ealing.
- International students make up about 31.2% of full-time enrolments, so visa and recruitment policy is a material demand sensitivity here.
- New-capacity applications continued in H1 2026. Delivery depends on decisions, viability and funding, so applications are not completions.
- Specialist and non-bank lenders hold most matched charges in these districts, consistent with a market where smaller and transitional assets are financed outside the high street.
This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.
Financing student accommodation in Ealing.
Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.
How this report was built.
- Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
- Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
- Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
- Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
- Geography. Student postcode districts for Ealing: W5 and W13. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
Sources
Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.
- [D1]Higher Education Student Statistics
HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0) - [D2]Price Paid Data
HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
Standard residential sales in W5 and W13. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. - [D3]Planning application registers
Ealing · 1 January–30 June 2026
Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified. - [D4]Register of charges
Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only. - [E1]Unlocking London's student housing potential
Lichfields · 2025-08-12
Scope: borough - [E2]The Paragon
University of West London · undated page (accessed 2026-09-25)
Scope: borough - [E3]Accommodation
University of West London · undated page (accessed 2026-09-25)
Scope: borough - [E4]Student accommodation rents rise sharply but incentives grow faster amid London affordability crisis
Property Week (citing Unipol and HEPI reports) · 2025-08-11
Scope: region - [E5]Park Royal Estate
Park Royal Estate · 2025-06-04
- [E6]Ealing Council
Ealing Council · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)
- [E7]Greater London Authority
Greater London Authority · 2024-10
- [E8]Ealing.News
Ealing.News · 2025-05-29
- [E9]Ealing.News
Ealing.News · 2026-02-11
Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.