Reports/Location reports/City of London
STUDENT ACCOMMODATION · CITY OF LONDON H1 / 2026

City of London Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026

Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in City of London's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.

Period: 1 January to 30 June 2026Published 25 September 2026
415,000Full-time studentsHESA 2023/24 · 39.8% international
1New-capacity applications, H1 2026Bed numbers mostly not stated
£639,500Median flat price, H1 2026-7.7% vs H1 2025 · 120 sales
126Property charges registered, H1 2026+31.2% vs H1 2025

Local evidence for City of London: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.

01 / Demand

415,000 full-time students anchor the City of London market.

HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 415,000 full-time higher education students across City, University of London, Imperial College London, King's College London, Queen Mary University of London and University College London, of whom roughly 165,000 (39.8%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 3%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.

Supply against demand

  • New PBSA beds delivered in London in 2025: 4,350 beds (2025).[E1]
  • PBSA beds under construction in London: 14,600 beds (Q4 2025).[E1]
  • PBSA bedrooms approved in London since London Plan 2021 adoption: 26,000+ bedrooms (2021 to Q1 2025).[E2]
02 / Supply pipeline

1 application sought new student capacity in H1 2026.

Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, City of London received 8 student-related planning records. After manual review, 1 application proposed new or additional student capacity (1 approved at the time of extraction). The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]

Over the twelve months to 30 June 2026, the same registers show 2 new-capacity applications stating 127 beds, against 1 application to relax student-only occupancy or move buildings out of student use.

For comparison, H1 2025 saw 0 new-capacity applications in the same registers. Counts this small move sharply year to year and are not a trend on their own.

New student-capacity applications received, H1 2026
ReferenceReceivedStatusScheme typeStated beds
26/00027/OBS2026-01-07ApprovedPurpose-built student accommodationNot stated

Source: City of London planning registers, as extracted. Status reflects the register at extraction and can change.

03 / Income

Published evidence on rents and occupancy in City of London.

Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.

Published rent and occupancy evidence, City of London
MeasureValuePeriodSource
Average annual PBSA rent, London£13,595 per year2024/25 academic yearProperty Week (citing Unipol and HEPI reports)[E3]
London PBSA rent growth over two academic years18% cumulative changetwo academic years to 2024/25Property Week (citing Unipol and HEPI reports)[E3]
04 / Values and exit

Flats in City of London's student districts sold at a median of £639,500 in H1 2026.

HM Land Registry recorded 122 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (EC1, EC2, EC3 and EC4) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 120 flats and 2 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.

Median sold prices in City of London's student districts
TypeH1 2026H1 2025Change12 months
Flats£639,500£692,500-7.7%£698,500
Terraced houses£1,180,000†£1,242,500n/a£1,380,000
All types£645,000£695,000£700,000

Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.

The median flat sale was 7.7% below the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.

No standard new-build sales had been registered in these districts for H1 2026 at extraction. New-build completions are often registered months later, so this does not mean none took place, and the medians above mostly reflect second-hand stock.

05 / Secured finance

126 property charges were registered in City of London's student districts in H1 2026.

Companies House recorded 126 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 108 borrowing companies, +31.2% on H1 2025 (96).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.

Charges by lender type, H1 2026
Lender typeH1 2026H1 2025
Not in our lender register4637
High-street banks4421
Specialist banks2530
Bridging lenders118

Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.

Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 45% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 11 charges, against 8 in H1 2025.

06 / Student HMOs

HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.

Across City of London, 0 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 0 of them in the student districts.[D3]

Local policy

  • City Plan 2040 Policy HS6 (student accommodation): PBSA must support the City's business function, not cause loss of viable office floorspace or permanent housing, and be backed by City or CAZ institutions; 35% should be affordable student accommodation, with nomination agreements required for all ASA.[E4]
  • City Plan 2040 status: The City Corporation's plan page gave adoption as anticipated in summer 2026 after 2025 examination hearings; the plan will replace the Local Plan 2015.[E5]
  • London Plan H15 affordable student accommodation: ASA is defined as rooms let at or below 55% of the maximum London maintenance loan for living costs for that academic year; at least 35% ASA (50% on public or suitable industrial land) makes a scheme eligible for the fast-track route, otherwise ASA is tested through viability.[E6]
07 / Public record

Schemes shaping City of London's student housing supply.

Publicly reported student accommodation schemes, City of London
SchemeBedsStatusNote
65 Fleet Street[E7]850approvedOffice-to-student retrofit of former law firm offices for over 850 beds, retaining the Fleet Street facade; planning approval as at Oct 2024 source, build status not verified.
61-65 Holborn Viaduct (21/00781/FULMAJ)[E8]644recommended for approval (officer recommendation to 1 Feb 2022 committee; decision not confirmed in source)Committee report: 644 rooms of which 230 (35%) affordable; applicant in detailed discussions with LSE on a nominations agreement; officers recommended approval for the 1 Feb 2022 committee. Decision and current build status not verified.

Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.

08 / What it means

What the H1 2026 evidence means for City of London.

  • International students make up about 39.8% of full-time enrolments, so visa and recruitment policy is a material demand sensitivity here.
  • New-capacity applications continued in H1 2026. Delivery depends on decisions, viability and funding, so applications are not completions.
Market commentary, not advice

This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.

09 / Finance

Financing student accommodation in City of London.

Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.

10 / Method

How this report was built.

  • Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
  • Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
  • Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
  • Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
  • Geography. Student postcode districts for City of London: EC1, EC2, EC3 and EC4. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
RESEARCH RECORD

Sources

Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.

  1. [D1]
    Higher Education Student Statistics

    HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
    HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0)

  2. [D2]
    Price Paid Data

    HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
    Standard residential sales in EC1, EC2, EC3 and EC4. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

  3. [D3]
    Planning application registers

    City of London · 1 January–30 June 2026
    Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified.

  4. [D4]
    Register of charges

    Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
    Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only.

  5. [E1]
    UK Student Market Update - Q4 2025

    Knight Frank · 2026-02-16
    Scope: region

  6. [E2]
    Surge in purpose built student accommodation across London

    Lichfields (reported by Landlord Today) · 2025-08-20
    Scope: region

  7. [E3]
    Student accommodation rents rise sharply but incentives grow faster amid London affordability crisis

    Property Week (citing Unipol and HEPI reports) · 2025-08-11
    Scope: region

  8. [E4]
    City of London Corporation

    City of London Corporation · 2024-04

  9. [E5]
    City of London Corporation

    City of London Corporation · 2026-03-18 (page 'date updated'; accessed 2026-09-25)

  10. [E6]
    Greater London Authority

    Greater London Authority · 2024-10

  11. [E7]
    Construction Enquirer

    Construction Enquirer · 2024-10-31

  12. [E8]
    City of London Corporation

    City of London Corporation · undated (committee report for 1 Feb 2022 meeting; PDF created 2022-01-24)

Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.