Cardiff Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026
Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in Cardiff's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.
Local evidence for Cardiff: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.
85,000 full-time students anchor the Cardiff market.
HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 85,000 full-time higher education students across Cardiff Metropolitan University, Cardiff University and University of South Wales, of whom roughly 22,000 (25.9%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 3%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.
Supply against demand
- Full-time students: 46,600 students (2026 (as published)).[E1]
- PBSA bed stock: 16,100 beds (2026 (as published)).[E1]
- Student bed spaces approved in the preceding year: 1,299 beds (Year to June 2025).[E2]
- Total students at Cardiff University, Cardiff Met and USW: just below 70,000 students (Steady 2018 to 2024).[E2]
1 application sought new student capacity in H1 2026.
Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Cardiff received 2 student-related planning records. After manual review, 1 application proposed new or additional student capacity (1 refused at the time of extraction). The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]
Over the twelve months to 30 June 2026, the same registers show 1 new-capacity application, against 0 applications to relax student-only occupancy or move buildings out of student use.
For comparison, H1 2025 saw 1 new-capacity application in the same registers. Counts this small move sharply year to year and are not a trend on their own.
| Reference | Received | Status | Scheme type | Stated beds |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26/00167/FUL | 2026-01-27 | Refused | Conversion to PBSA | Not stated |
Source: Cardiff planning registers, as extracted. Status reflects the register at extraction and can change.
Published evidence on rents and occupancy in Cardiff.
Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.
| Measure | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cardiff Met Plas Gwyn halls, self-catered en-suite weekly rent (Classic to Premium Plus) | £156 to £175 per week | Current published rates, 42-week contract, utilities included (academic year not stated on page) | Cardiff Metropolitan University[E3] |
| Cardiff Met Cyncoed halls weekly rent range (self-catered en-suite to catered en-suite premium) | £156 to £225 per week | Current published rates, 42-week contract (academic year not stated on page) | Cardiff Metropolitan University[E4] |
Flats in Cardiff's student districts sold at a median of £165,000 in H1 2026.
HM Land Registry recorded 634 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (CF10, CF14 and CF24) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 178 flats and 242 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.
| Type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 | Change | 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flats | £165,000 | £170,000 | -2.9% | £167,000 |
| Terraced houses | £270,000 | £261,500 | +3.3% | £272,000 |
| All types | £270,000 | £276,700 | £278,000 |
Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.
The median flat sale was 2.9% below the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.
No standard new-build sales had been registered in these districts for H1 2026 at extraction. New-build completions are often registered months later, so this does not mean none took place, and the medians above mostly reflect second-hand stock.
251 property charges were registered in Cardiff's student districts in H1 2026.
Companies House recorded 251 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 187 borrowing companies, +2.0% on H1 2025 (246).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.
| Lender type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Specialist banks | 135 | 134 |
| Not in our lender register | 42 | 53 |
| Bridging lenders | 38 | 26 |
| High-street banks | 35 | 32 |
| Development lenders | 1 | 1 |
Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.
Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 83.3% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 39 charges, against 27 in H1 2025.
HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.
Across Cardiff, 27 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 18 of them in the student districts. Of those decided, 76.9% were approved.[D3]
Local policy
- HMO planning controls (Cardiff HMO SPG): Cardiff's 2016 HMO SPG treats concentrations above 20% of dwellings within 50m as too high in Cathays and Plasnewydd, and 10% elsewhere; it covers C4 (3-6 sharers) and larger sui generis HMOs.[E5]
- PBSA local plan policy: The Replacement LDP (2021-2036) deposit plan proposed Policy H6 restricting new PBSA to the City Centre and Cardiff Bay business areas, and Policy H5 carrying the 20%/50m HMO threshold. The plan was at examination as of July 2026.[E6]
- HMO licensing: Additional HMO licensing applies in Cathays (current scheme from 1 Feb 2023, five years, to 1 Feb 2028), covering all HMOs in the area bar statutory exemptions. The Plasnewydd scheme (from 1 Jan 2021) had a stated end date of 1 Jan 2026; SRS's page does not confirm a renewal.[E7]
Schemes shaping Cardiff's student housing supply.
| Scheme | Beds | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cardiff University, former Brickyard Business Park / Bevan Place, Gabalfa[E8] | 665 | proposed | Pre-application consultation 20 Jul to 17 Aug 2026, adjacent to Talybont; full planning still required. |
| Longcross Court, Newport Road, Roath[E9] | 706 | approved | 18-storey scheme replacing 1970s office block; approved by planning committee 5 Sep 2024. |
| Friary House, Greyfriars Road (former Tiger Tiger)[E10] | n/a | approved | 28-storey student tower approved unanimously by planning committee; bed count not stated in source opened. |
| Custom House Street tower[E11] | n/a | approved | 33-storey, 400-unit co-living scheme approved in place of a 42-storey, 447-bed student tower approved in 2016. |
Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.
What the H1 2026 evidence means for Cardiff.
- International students are about 25.9% of full-time enrolments: a meaningful minority, so recruitment policy still matters, but domestic demand carries most of the market.
- New-capacity applications continued in H1 2026. Delivery depends on decisions, viability and funding, so applications are not completions.
- Specialist and non-bank lenders hold most matched charges in these districts, consistent with a market where smaller and transitional assets are financed outside the high street.
This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.
Financing student accommodation in Cardiff.
Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.
How this report was built.
- Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
- Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
- Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
- Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
- Geography. Student postcode districts for Cardiff: CF10, CF14 and CF24. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
Sources
Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.
- [D1]Higher Education Student Statistics
HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0) - [D2]Price Paid Data
HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
Standard residential sales in CF10, CF14 and CF24. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. - [D3]Planning application registers
Cardiff · 1 January–30 June 2026
Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified. - [D4]Register of charges
Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only. - [E1]Cardiff Student Housing Outlook 2026
Arthur & Hamilton (letting agent; cites unnamed published market data and university figures) · 2026-05-01
Scope: city - [E2]Is there a darker motive behind the student accommodation boom?
Big Issue (planning trawl) · 2025-06-30
Scope: city - [E3]Plas Gwyn Campus halls of residence
Cardiff Metropolitan University · 2026-09 (page undated; accessed 2026-09-25)
Scope: city - [E4]Cyncoed Campus halls of residence
Cardiff Metropolitan University · 2026-09 (page undated; accessed 2026-09-25)
Scope: city - [E5]CPS Homes
CPS Homes · 2016-09-21
- [E6]CPS Homes; Cardiff Council Replacement LDP site
CPS Homes; Cardiff Council Replacement LDP site · 2025-03-10
- [E7]Shared Regulatory Services
Shared Regulatory Services · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)
- [E8]Global Student Living
Global Student Living · 2026-07-24
- [E9]Nation.Cymru
Nation.Cymru · 2024-09-10
- [E10]Herald.Wales
Herald.Wales · 2024-04-12
- [E11]Housing Today
Housing Today · 2026-06-08
Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.