Camden Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026
Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in Camden's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.
Local evidence for Camden: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.
48,000 full-time students anchor the Camden market.
HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 48,000 full-time higher education students across Central Saint Martins (UAL) and University College London, of whom roughly 19,000 (39.6%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 3%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.
Supply against demand
- Resident full-time students in Camden: approx. 25,000 students (as stated in April 2025 draft plan).[E1]
- PBSA bedspaces in Camden: approx. 13,000 bedspaces (as stated in April 2025 draft plan).[E1]
- Student rooms delivered in Camden: around 500 rooms (2016-2024 (vs over 3,000 in 2011-2016)).[E1]
- Camden student housing target: 200 additional places per year (draft Local Plan period).[E1]
2 applications sought new student capacity in H1 2026.
Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Camden received 21 student-related planning records. After manual review, 2 applications proposed new or additional student capacity (2 undetermined or pending at the time of extraction). The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]
Over the twelve months to 30 June 2026, the same registers show 5 new-capacity applications stating 3 beds, against 0 applications to relax student-only occupancy or move buildings out of student use.
For comparison, H1 2025 saw 0 new-capacity applications in the same registers. Counts this small move sharply year to year and are not a trend on their own.
| Reference | Received | Status | Scheme type | Stated beds |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026/1229/P | 2026-03-30 | Pending | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
| 2026/2226/P | 2026-06-04 | Pending | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
Source: Camden planning registers, as extracted. Status reflects the register at extraction and can change.
Published evidence on rents and occupancy in Camden.
Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.
| Measure | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Average annual PBSA rent, London | £13,595 per year | 2024/25 academic year | Property Week (citing Unipol and HEPI reports)[E2] |
| London PBSA rent growth over two academic years | 18% cumulative change | two academic years to 2024/25 | Property Week (citing Unipol and HEPI reports)[E2] |
Flats in Camden's student districts sold at a median of £580,000 in H1 2026.
HM Land Registry recorded 157 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (NW1 and WC1) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 137 flats and 18 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.
| Type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 | Change | 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flats | £580,000 | £625,000 | -7.2% | £627,500 |
| Terraced houses | £1,396,250† | £1,711,250 | n/a | £1,420,000 |
| All types | £620,000 | £680,000 | £679,000 |
Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.
The median flat sale was 7.2% below the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.
No standard new-build sales had been registered in these districts for H1 2026 at extraction. New-build completions are often registered months later, so this does not mean none took place, and the medians above mostly reflect second-hand stock.
140 property charges were registered in Camden's student districts in H1 2026.
Companies House recorded 140 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 116 borrowing companies, +26.1% on H1 2025 (111).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.
| Lender type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Specialist banks | 60 | 31 |
| Not in our lender register | 32 | 56 |
| High-street banks | 27 | 16 |
| Bridging lenders | 21 | 7 |
Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.
Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 75% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 21 charges, against 8 in H1 2025.
HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.
Across Camden, 8 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 1 of them in the student districts. Of those decided, 80% were approved.[D3]
Local policy
- Camden draft Local Plan Policy H9: Seeks to meet or exceed 200 additional student places a year; PBSA must have nominations agreements with recognised higher education institutions and provide affordable student accommodation or an affordable housing contribution, and must not displace sites identified for self-contained homes.[E1]
- London Plan H15 affordable student accommodation: ASA is defined as rooms let at or below 55% of the maximum London maintenance loan for living costs for that academic year; at least 35% ASA (50% on public or suitable industrial land) makes a scheme eligible for the fast-track route, otherwise ASA is tested through viability.[E3]
Schemes shaping Camden's student housing supply.
| Scheme | Beds | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| 33-35 Jamestown Road and 211 Arlington Road[E4] | 178 | approved | Six-storey scheme with 27 affordable homes; approved as at June 2025 source, with construction then expected to begin in 2026, subject to final agreements. |
| 100 Chalk Farm Road (opposite the Roundhouse)[E5] | 264 | approved | Unanimously approved (as at Sept 2024 source) with 30 affordable homes and nearly 11,000 sq ft of commercial space; construction was then expected to start later in 2024. |
| Shirley House, 25-27 Camden Road (allocation C16)[E1] | 197 | proposed | Draft Local Plan site allocation for student accommodation; indicative capacity only. Status as at source date (2025-04). |
| UCL Camden Campus, 109 Camden Road (allocation C18)[E1] | 180 | proposed | Allocation for 180 additional student units on a site with 714 existing UCL rooms; indicative. Status as at source date (2025-04). |
| Hawkridge House, Warden Road (allocation C14)[E1] | 19 | proposed | Allocation for 19 additional units on a site with 216 existing student units; indicative. Status as at source date (2025-04). |
Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.
What the H1 2026 evidence means for Camden.
- International students make up about 39.6% of full-time enrolments, so visa and recruitment policy is a material demand sensitivity here.
- New-capacity applications continued in H1 2026. Delivery depends on decisions, viability and funding, so applications are not completions.
- Specialist and non-bank lenders hold most matched charges in these districts, consistent with a market where smaller and transitional assets are financed outside the high street.
This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.
Financing student accommodation in Camden.
Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.
How this report was built.
- Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
- Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
- Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
- Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
- Geography. Student postcode districts for Camden: NW1 and WC1. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
Sources
Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.
- [D1]Higher Education Student Statistics
HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0) - [D2]Price Paid Data
HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
Standard residential sales in NW1 and WC1. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. - [D3]Planning application registers
Camden · 1 January–30 June 2026
Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified. - [D4]Register of charges
Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only. - [E1]Camden Local Plan Proposed Submission Draft
London Borough of Camden · 2025-04
Scope: borough - [E2]Student accommodation rents rise sharply but incentives grow faster amid London affordability crisis
Property Week (citing Unipol and HEPI reports) · 2025-08-11
Scope: region - [E3]Greater London Authority
Greater London Authority · 2024-10
- [E4]Arada London
Arada London · 2025-06-06
- [E5]Housing Today
Housing Today · 2024-09-12
Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.