Bristol Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026
Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in Bristol's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.
Local evidence for Bristol: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.
60,000 full-time students anchor the Bristol market.
HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 60,000 full-time higher education students across University of Bristol and University of the West of England, of whom roughly 16,000 (26.7%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 3.5%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.
Supply against demand
- PBSA beds under construction: 5,000 beds (Q4 2025).[E1]
- Students studying at Bristol institutions (council HNA, as cited by Unite): 59,400 students (2023).[E2]
- Student bedspaces provided (council HNA, as cited by Unite): 16,500 bedspaces (2023).[E2]
- Students per bedspace (Unite calculation from council HNA): 3.6 students per bedspace (2023).[E2]
6 applications sought new student capacity in H1 2026.
Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Bristol and South Gloucestershire received 92 student-related planning records. After manual review, 6 applications proposed new or additional student capacity (1 approved and 5 undetermined or pending at the time of extraction). The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]
14 beds are stated in 1 proposal. Bed figures are as written in the proposal descriptions. They are a floor, not a total, because many applications do not state a number.
Over the twelve months to 30 June 2026, the same registers show 12 new-capacity applications stating 614 beds, against 0 applications to relax student-only occupancy or move buildings out of student use.
For comparison, H1 2025 saw 5 new-capacity applications in the same registers. Counts this small move sharply year to year and are not a trend on their own.
| Reference | Received | Status | Scheme type | Stated beds |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26/12267/F | 2026-06-19 | Decided | Studio-led scheme | 14 |
| 26/11841/F | 2026-04-30 | Pending | Conversion to PBSA | Not stated |
| 26/12288/F | 2026-06-10 | Pending | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
| 26/10185/P | 2026-01-26 | Decided | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
| 26/10196/F | 2026-01-16 | Pending | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
| 26/10751/F | 2026-02-20 | Approved | Conversion to PBSA | Not stated |
Source: Bristol and South Gloucestershire planning registers, as extracted. Status reflects the register at extraction and can change.
Published evidence on rents and occupancy in Bristol.
Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.
| Measure | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Average PBSA rent (live listings) | £207 per person per week | Live listings, accessed 2026-09-25 (page undated) | StuRents[E3] |
| Average rent, all student properties excl. bills (live listings) | £136 per person per week | Live listings, accessed 2026-09-25 (page undated) | StuRents[E3] |
| Advertised starting rent, Unite Avon Point (bills included) | £258 per week | 2026/27 academic year | Unite Students[E4] |
| Private-sector PBSA occupancy (StuRents Occupancy Survey) | 85.4% | 2025/26 academic year (Oct 2025 update) | HEPI (citing StuRents)[E5] |
Flats in Bristol's student districts sold at a median of £292,500 in H1 2026.
HM Land Registry recorded 1,101 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (BS1, BS2, BS6, BS7, BS8 and BS16) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 438 flats and 366 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.
| Type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 | Change | 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flats | £292,500 | £280,000 | +4.5% | £290,000 |
| Terraced houses | £411,000 | £415,000 | -1.0% | £420,000 |
| All types | £375,000 | £370,000 | £375,000 |
Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.
The median flat sale was 4.5% above the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.
No standard new-build sales had been registered in these districts for H1 2026 at extraction. New-build completions are often registered months later, so this does not mean none took place, and the medians above mostly reflect second-hand stock.
325 property charges were registered in Bristol's student districts in H1 2026.
Companies House recorded 325 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 235 borrowing companies, +14.0% on H1 2025 (285).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.
| Lender type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Specialist banks | 156 | 133 |
| Not in our lender register | 62 | 52 |
| Bridging lenders | 50 | 45 |
| High-street banks | 44 | 53 |
| Development lenders | 13 | 2 |
Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.
Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 83.3% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 63 charges, against 47 in H1 2025.
HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.
Across Bristol and South Gloucestershire, 50 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 28 of them in the student districts. Of those decided, 67.7% were approved. 1 application went the other way, returning HMOs to family homes.[D3]
Local policy
- Article 4 HMO direction: New Article 4 Directions confirmed for parts of Brislington, Frome Vale, Purdown, Southmead and Horfield, St George and Westbury Park require planning permission for C3 to C4 small-HMO change of use from 1 January 2027. Earlier directions cover Ashley, Cabot, Clifton East, Cotham, Lawrence Hill (2011), Clifton West and Redland (2012) and North, South and East Bristol and Avonmouth Village (2020).[E6]
- PBSA local plan policy: Draft Bristol Local Plan Policy H7 sets bedspace caps for PBSA in defined areas; Unite argued at examination that, by council figures, 4,208 bedspaces had been consented against a proposed 4,600 cap in the St Philip's Marsh area.[E2]
Schemes shaping Bristol's student housing supply.
| Scheme | Beds | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cabot Gate (Dale Street)[E7] | 600 | approved | Outline consent, committee vote 7-2 on 22 Apr 2026; part 10, part 28 storeys; reserved matters still required. |
| 35 Albert Road[E8] | 530 | approved | 22-storey tower; planning and Building Safety Act Gateway 2 approval secured; targeting 2026/27 academic year. |
| Princess Street, Bedminster[E9] | 400 | approved | Mixed scheme with 434 flats in four blocks of 6-23 storeys; approved subject to conditions incl. 20% affordable housing. |
| Avon Point, Feeder Road[E2] | 636 | under construction as at Mar 2025 (due 2025/26); operator now letting for 2026/27 | 636 bedspaces under construction as at Mar 2025; operator page now letting rooms for 2026/27 near Temple Quarter campus. |
| Freestone Island[E5] | 500 | mothballed | Listed as under construction in Mar 2025; reported in Apr 2026 as indefinitely mothballed. |
Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.
What the H1 2026 evidence means for Bristol.
- International students are about 26.7% of full-time enrolments: a meaningful minority, so recruitment policy still matters, but domestic demand carries most of the market.
- New-capacity applications continued in H1 2026. Delivery depends on decisions, viability and funding, so applications are not completions.
- Specialist and non-bank lenders hold most matched charges in these districts, consistent with a market where smaller and transitional assets are financed outside the high street.
This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.
Financing student accommodation in Bristol.
Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.
How this report was built.
- Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
- Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
- Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
- Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
- Geography. Student postcode districts for Bristol: BS1, BS2, BS6, BS7, BS8 and BS16. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
Sources
Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.
- [D1]Higher Education Student Statistics
HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0) - [D2]Price Paid Data
HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
Standard residential sales in BS1, BS2, BS6, BS7, BS8 and BS16. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. - [D3]Planning application registers
Bristol and South Gloucestershire · 1 January–30 June 2026
Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified. - [D4]Register of charges
Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only. - [E1]UK Student Market Update - Q4 2025
Knight Frank · 2026-02-16
Scope: national-with-local-cut - [E2]Examination of the Bristol Local Plan 2022-2040: Hearing Statement Matter 7
ROK Planning for Unite Group, Bristol Local Plan examination hearing statement (Matter 7) · 2025-03-07
Scope: city - [E3]Student Accommodation Bristol - Houses, Flats
StuRents · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)
Scope: city - [E4]Avon Point, Bristol
Unite Students · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)
Scope: city - [E5]Weekend reading: What's happening with the UK's student accommodation?
HEPI (citing StuRents) · 2026-04-11
Scope: national - [E6]Bristol City Council
Bristol City Council · undated (accessed 2026-09-25)
- [E7]Architects' Journal
Architects' Journal · 2026-04-27
- [E8]UKREiiF
UKREiiF · 2026-01-12
- [E9]Architects' Journal
Architects' Journal · 2026-04-27
Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.