STUDENT ACCOMMODATION · BIRMINGHAM H1 / 2026

Birmingham Student Accommodation Market Report H1 2026

Student demand, the planning pipeline, sold prices and secured finance in Birmingham's student districts, 1 January to 30 June 2026.

Period: 1 January to 30 June 2026Published 25 September 2026
80,000Full-time studentsHESA 2023/24 · 27.5% international
6New-capacity applications, H1 2026163 beds stated in proposals
£170,000Median flat price, H1 2026-22.7% vs H1 2025 · 74 sales
265Property charges registered, H1 2026+21.0% vs H1 2025

Local evidence for Birmingham: HESA enrolments, the observed planning register extract, HM Land Registry sales and Companies House charges in the student postcode districts, plus dated public sources. Read the methodology.

01 / Demand

80,000 full-time students anchor the Birmingham market.

HESA's 2023/24 statistics record about 80,000 full-time higher education students across Aston University, Birmingham City University, University College Birmingham and University of Birmingham, of whom roughly 22,000 (27.5%) are international.[D1] The same approximate series shows year-on-year growth of about 3.5%. These are enrolment figures, not a count of students needing a bed: commuting, postgraduate and part-time students change the local ratio.

Supply against demand

  • Operational PBSA beds: 29,487 beds (start of 2026).[E1]
  • Forecast PBSA beds (report notes much consented pipeline may not be delivered near term): around 33,800 beds (by 2028).[E1]
  • Existing PBSA bedspaces (council monitoring); plus 2,010 under construction, 7,168 permitted not started (Nov 2024) and 5,591 in live applications: 24,614 bedspaces (at 1 April 2024).[E2]
  • Students requiring accommodation (HESA 2022/23, five main universities; 102,089 full-time students in total): 47,434 bed spaces (2022/23 academic year).[E2]
02 / Supply pipeline

6 applications sought new student capacity in H1 2026.

Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Birmingham received 10 student-related planning records. After manual review, 6 applications proposed new or additional student capacity (4 approved, 1 refused and 1 undetermined or pending at the time of extraction). The rest were condition discharges, amendments, operational works or consultations from neighbouring authorities, which we exclude so that a scheme counts once.[D3]

163 beds are stated in 3 proposals. Bed figures are as written in the proposal descriptions. They are a floor, not a total, because many applications do not state a number.

New student-capacity applications received, H1 2026
ReferenceReceivedStatusScheme typeStated beds
2025/05779/PA2026-02-04*ApprovedConversion to PBSA129
2025/05794/PA2026-01-27*RefusedCluster-flat scheme30
2026/00668/PA2026-04-08PendingConversion to PBSA4
2025/06137/PA2026-03-04*ApprovedPurpose-built student accommodationNot stated
2025/06157/PA2026-01-05*ApprovedPurpose-built student accommodationNot stated
2025/06872/PA2026-02-17*ApprovedConversion to PBSANot stated

Source: Birmingham planning registers, as extracted. Status reflects the register at extraction and can change. *Received date estimated from the reference sequence.

03 / Income

Published evidence on rents and occupancy in Birmingham.

Local rent and occupancy evidence comes from published research and operator or university disclosures. We quote it as published, with its period and scope, and do not blend sources.

Published rent and occupancy evidence, Birmingham
MeasureValuePeriodSource
Average PBSA rent (StuRents data; up from £180/week four years earlier)£220 per weekearly 2025LandlordZone (citing StuRents)[E3]
Price band covering around three-quarters of PBSA beds£120–£209 per week2026 (City Spotlight report)Estates Gazette (citing Harris Associates and Studentcrowd)[E1]
Maximum budget set by nearly 58% of students searching for accommodation£179–£209 per week2026 (City Spotlight report)Estates Gazette (citing Harris Associates and Studentcrowd)[E1]
04 / Values and exit

Flats in Birmingham's student districts sold at a median of £170,000 in H1 2026.

HM Land Registry recorded 191 standard residential sales in the student postcode districts (B1, B4, B5, B15 and B29) with completion dates in H1 2026, including 74 flats and 56 terraced houses.[D2] Flats and terraces are the closest proxy for small student investment stock: the Land Registry does not identify HMOs.

Median sold prices in Birmingham's student districts
TypeH1 2026H1 2025Change12 months
Flats£170,000£219,995-22.7%£206,225
Terraced houses£260,250£245,000+6.2%£258,250
All types£235,000£245,000£248,000

Source: HM Land Registry Price Paid Data, transactions to 2026-07-30. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions, so we do not compare sales volumes year on year.

The median flat sale was 22.7% below the H1 2025 median. Mix matters at this scale: one new-build block or a cluster of ex-student flats can move a district median.

No standard new-build sales had been registered in these districts for H1 2026 at extraction. New-build completions are often registered months later, so this does not mean none took place, and the medians above mostly reflect second-hand stock.

05 / Secured finance

265 property charges were registered in Birmingham's student districts in H1 2026.

Companies House recorded 265 charges created in H1 2026 over property in these districts, across 217 borrowing companies, +21.0% on H1 2025 (219).[D4] Charges are security instruments. They show that secured finance was put in place, not how much was lent or on what terms, and one facility can create several charges.

Charges by lender type, H1 2026
Lender typeH1 2026H1 2025
Specialist banks142114
Not in our lender register7358
Bridging lenders3130
High-street banks1917

Lender types come from the Construction Capital lender register, matched on the person entitled to the charge. Individual lenders are not named. 'Not in our lender register' includes individuals, private companies and some banks.

Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 90.1% were held by specialist banks, development, bridging or private funders rather than high-street banks. Bridging and development lenders alone accounted for 31 charges, against 30 in H1 2025.

6 charges involved a borrower name or charge description that mentions student accommodation. Name matching misses most student-let property, so treat this as a lower bound.

06 / Student HMOs

HMO activity and local policy shape small-scale student investment.

Across Birmingham, 35 applications in H1 2026 proposed a change of use to a house in multiple occupation, 13 of them in the student districts. Of those decided, 37.5% were approved.[D3]

Local policy

  • Article 4 HMO direction: City-wide Article 4 Direction in force since 8 June 2020: converting a C3 house to a small (3-6 person) C4 HMO needs planning permission anywhere in Birmingham. An HMO SPD was adopted on 26 April 2022.[E4]
  • HMO licensing: Since 5 June 2023 smaller HMOs (3 or 4 occupants from 2+ households) need an additional licence, costing £755 per property; mandatory licensing still applies to 5+ occupants.[E5]
07 / Public record

Schemes shaping Birmingham's student housing supply.

Publicly reported student accommodation schemes, Birmingham
SchemeBedsStatusNote
120 Suffolk Street[E6]504approvedCity centre site next to the Mailbox; delivery estimated 2029.
Haüs, 12 Calthorpe Road, Edgbaston[E7]395under constructionPhase 1 (266 beds) due to complete June 2026 for 2026/27; phase 2 (129 units) approved Mar 2026.
1 Chapel Lane, Selly Oak (former Sainsbury's)[E8]836approved472 studios and 364 cluster beds plus commercial space and medical centre.

Compiled from public planning records and press coverage; status as reported on the source date.

08 / What it means

What the H1 2026 evidence means for Birmingham.

  • International students are about 27.5% of full-time enrolments: a meaningful minority, so recruitment policy still matters, but domestic demand carries most of the market.
  • New-capacity applications continued in H1 2026. Delivery depends on decisions, viability and funding, so applications are not completions.
  • Specialist and non-bank lenders hold most matched charges in these districts, consistent with a market where smaller and transitional assets are financed outside the high street.
Market commentary, not advice

This report describes observed data. It is not a valuation, a forecast of returns, investment advice or an offer of finance.

09 / Finance

Financing student accommodation in Birmingham.

Student accommodation finance covers development loans for new PBSA, bridging for acquisitions and conversions, and term or investment loans once a scheme is let. Read our finance services, or the H1 2026 UK student accommodation finance report for the national picture.

10 / Method

How this report was built.

  • Planning. Raw council planning exports in the Construction Capital lake. Student records are keyword-screened then manually classified; only primary capacity applications count towards new provision. Bed figures are as stated in proposal text, excluding hybrid schemes that also propose dwellings, and are a floor, not a total. Councils count only where the scrape window spans the whole period.
  • Sold prices. HMLR Price Paid, standard (category A) residential sales in curated student postcode districts. Flats and terraces are the student-let proxy: HMLR cannot identify HMOs. Transaction-sample medians, not a constant-quality index or a PBSA valuation. Registrations lag completions by weeks to months, so the latest months understate final counts; do not read falling counts as falling liquidity.
  • Charges. Companies House charges registered against property in the location's student postcode districts (charged-property postcode). Charges are security instruments, not loans: no amounts, LTVs or rates. Persons entitled can be security trustees. Lender categories come from the Construction Capital lender register; 'unmatched' = not in the register. Snapshot 2026-08-01.
  • Evidence. Rents, occupancy, schemes and policy are quoted from dated public sources, researched 2026-09-25, and are not adjusted.
  • Geography. Student postcode districts for Birmingham: B1, B4, B5, B15 and B29. Curated around university campuses and the main student-let neighbourhoods.
RESEARCH RECORD

Sources

Source dates and observation periods are stated separately. Database findings describe the observed extract; public sources are attributed to their publishers.

  1. [D1]
    Higher Education Student Statistics

    HESA (approximate, CC BY 4.0) · 2023/24
    HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 (approximate, CC-BY 4.0)

  2. [D2]
    Price Paid Data

    HM Land Registry · Transactions to July 2026
    Standard residential sales in B1, B4, B5, B15 and B29. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right. Licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

  3. [D3]
    Planning application registers

    Birmingham · 1 January–30 June 2026
    Observed extract of public planning registers held in the Construction Capital data lake; student records manually classified.

  4. [D4]
    Register of charges

    Companies House · Snapshot 2026-08-01
    Charges registered against property in the student postcode districts. Lender identities withheld; categories only.

  5. [E1]
    Birmingham emerges as 'precision market' for PBSA investors

    Estates Gazette (citing Harris Associates and Studentcrowd) · 2026-05-06
    Scope: city

  6. [E2]
    Purpose Built Student Accommodation: Supply and Demand Update

    Birmingham City Council · 2024-11-28
    Scope: city

  7. [E3]
    Rents in purpose-built student accommodation continue to outpace HMOs

    LandlordZone (citing StuRents) · 2025-03-10
    Scope: city

  8. [E4]
    Birmingham City Council

    Birmingham City Council · 2025-05-16

  9. [E5]
    Birmingham City Council

    Birmingham City Council · 2026-05-14

  10. [E6]
    Landmark Properties (press release)

    Landmark Properties (press release) · 2026-03-19

  11. [E7]
    Construction UK Magazine

    Construction UK Magazine · 2026-03-17

  12. [E8]
    Galliard Homes

    Galliard Homes · 2024-05-02

Published by Student Accommodation Finance, a trading name of Lenzie Consulting Ltd. Original research and analysis, with public sources attributed to their publishers. This report is market commentary, not a valuation, personal investment recommendation or offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Individual lenders are not identified.